My Corner of Paris

Okay, who would turn down a stay at the George V (Fours Seasons) in Paris? Not me, such a beautiful elegant hotel with exceptional staff, but if I am paying for the stay my little corner of Paris as well as my heart is in Saint Germain. I just love this arrondissement (6th). It has everything a Style Spotter desires – style, energy and culture.

There is exceptional shopping, relaxed crowds during the week with increased energy on the weekends, a fabulous park (Jardin du Luxembourg), and patisseries. I can just smell the apple turnover at Poilane. It was a tough decision but I just could not polish off a 4 pound loaf of their magnificent bread. The gentleman in front of me purchased an apple turnover and immediately turned around and handed it to a fellow standing near the doorway. What a good samaritan! And take my word, it was worth the calories.

Or what about a fantastic chocolate baguette (yes, you read that right) at the bakery on Rue du Dragon (mid-way up the block) or the best Parisian salad of warm roasted garlic potatoes on top of a chilled salad with roast beef (located on Rue du Four opposite from Pataugas Shoes). I should have taken a picture of this work of art but consumed it before the idea came to mind. And yes, I ate there several times on both my solo trips. It’s worth the hunt for these two shops even without their names (sorry).

You have your pick of shopping establishments – from a unique boutique to Le Bon Marche from known brands (Hermès, Prada, etc.) to boutiques with a few stores. On my first day in Paris this past summer, I happened into COS at 3, Rue de Grenelle. What a gem. The store is bright and airy inviting a long browse throughout. And the prices were great. Well worth a visit and I am sure you will leave with a bag in hand like me.

Let me leave you with my some of my favorite streets to meander in Saint Germain – Rue de Grenelle, Rue du Cherchi-Midi, Rue de Sevres, Rue Bonaparte and Rue Jacob.

Happy browsing! Got something to share. We’d love to hear

Leave a Reply

