It’s All a Matter of Mindset

During my recent trip to New York, I had a conversation with a good friend. She knows I’d never spring thousands (or many hundreds for that matter) on a handbag, but she was making an analogy between herself and her partner.  She was just saying everyone has their thing. He likes spending on the house, she likes spending on bags and shoes and I like spending on value. We’re all happy.

The panache of a designer label diminishes its appeal to me when everyone sports a similar bag. In Manhattan, Louis Vuitton’s were plentiful. I recently sold a Louis Vuitton cosmetic bag which was large enough to use as an evening bag. I bought it decades ago but I just could not bring myself to wear it public. I also have a Chanel Patent handbag (Pochette) staring me down in my closet. No, I did not buy it myself. Anyone interested – ha! These types of bags make a statement. I guess just one that I cannot make.

As a loyal Style Spotter, you know it doesn’t have to be expensive to look great. I had many compliments on an orange handbag that I bought in Israel (after my trip to Paris). I purchased it in Tel Aviv at Londoners on Shenkin Street. It cost about $70. It is made of composite materials (supposedly including leather) but it looks just like leather or as good as orange leather can look.

Like I said, style can look great at any price, and it’s all a matter of mindset.

Style Spotter, what’s your mindset?

Leave a Reply

